The NSF Nanosystems Engineering Research Center (NERC) for Nanomanufacturing Systems for Mobile Computing and Mobile Energy Technologies (NASCENT) was funded in September, 2012. The center develops high throughput, high yield and versatile nanomanufacturing systems to take nano-science discoveries from the lab to the marketplace.

The Center is composed of faculty and graduate researchers from several universities, industrial partners, and associated research institutions


Dr. Randy Schunk, accepting Tallmadge award plaque

P. Randall (Randy) Schunk, a NASCENT Faculty member, received the 2018 John A. Tallmadge award

The John A. Tallmadge award recognizes an individual’s significant contributions to the understanding and improvement of coating science and technology. The award is presented biennially, in even numbered years and is sponsored by the International Society of Coating Science and Technology (ISCST), and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). Randy is the 14th recipient of this award which dates back to 1992. He is recognized for his career-long contributions in pioneering and applying modeling and simulation strategies to challenging problems in liquid-film coating and precision metering of films in processes of the sort used for the manufacturing of everything from adhesive tape to precision electronics. Randy is a National Laboratory Professor in the Chemical and Biological Engineering Department at the University of New Mexico.

2018 Best Mentor Awards

This is the third summer we have implemented a new recognition system to reward graduate student mentors who have distinguished themselves in the areas of mentorship and education of our summer research interns - and I am thrilled to announce our 2018 winners! All of our NASCENT graduate student mentors contributed countless hours over the summer in an effort to provide the best possible research experiences for the high school students, undergraduates and teachers in our education programs. We have exceptional mentors in all of our programs and I would like to first recognize all of their efforts – THANK YOU for all that you did this summer to support our participants, and in so doing, furthering the goals of our NASCENT Education Programs. You are making a tremendous difference in the lives of young people by sparking and/or solidifying a strong interest in engineering along with showing your mentees what they can accomplish through the world of research.

While all of our mentors were extraordinary, we have a handful who went beyond in their roles as a teacher, guide, mentor – exhibiting outstanding efforts in the mentorship of our summer participants. NASCENT would like to recognize the following individuals through the Best Mentor Awards:

1st Place – Xin Xu, advised by Prof. Ananth Dodabalapur
2nd Place – Neal Wostbrock, advised by Prof. Tito Busani & Brennan Coffey, advised by Prof. John Ekerdt
3rd Place – Liam Connolly, advised by Prof. Michael Cullinan

Please join me in congratulating our 2018 NASCENT Best Mentor Awardees!

We recognized our awardees at the NASCENT Summer Closing Lunch. The awardees will formally be recognized at the fall meeting of the 2018 Industry Advisory Board meeting. For their outstanding performance, they will receive an additional merit in the following amounts: 1st - $500, 2nd - $200, 3rd - $100.

Risa Hartman | NASCENT ERC Pre-College Director

Students in EER building atrium, sharing research posters

NASCENT and MRSEC host Research Experiences Poster Symposium

NASCENT and the Center for Dynamics and Control of Materials - Materials Research Science and Engineering Centers (CDCM MRSEC) hosted a poster symposium on Friday, July 27, 2018 in the Engineering and Education Research Center (EER) at The University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin) to display the work of participants in their Summer Research Experiences Programs. Work was presented by participants in three programs: Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU), Research Experiences for Teachers (RET), and the CISTAR Young Scholars Program.

More pictures are available in the following Flickr album>

Dr. Delia Milliron received the 2018 Edith and Peter O'Donnell Award in Engineering

Recognizing Dr. Milliron's work to develop new coating materials to dynamically control IR transmission, “The TAMEST Edith and Peter O’Donnell Awards showcase the best and brightest among Texas researchers,” says TAMEST President Gordon England.


Our mission is to create high throughput, reliable and versatile nanomanufacturing systems and associated processes through transformative research, education of leaders and global and industrial engagement that will revolutionize future generations of mobile computing and energy devices.