Dr. Deji Akinwande

Deji Akinwande Portrait

NASCENT Process Technologies Thrust Co-Lead, UT-Austin, ECE

An Associate Professor with the University of Texas at Austin., Prof. Akinwande has been honored with the 2017 Friedrich Bessel Research Award, induction into the inaugural cohort of Moore Inventor Fellows in 2016, the 2016 Presidential PECASE award, the inaugural IEEE Nano Geim and Novoselov Graphene Prize, the IEEE “Early Career Award” in Nanotechnology, the NSF CAREER award, the Army and DTRA Young Investigator awards, the 3M Nontenured Faculty Award, and was a past recipient of fellowships from the Ford Foundation, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and Stanford DARE Initiative. He recently co-authored a textbook on carbon nanotubes and graphene device physics by Cambridge University Press, 2011. His recent results on silicene have been featured online by nature news, Time magazine among other media outlets. His work on flexible 2D electronics was selected as among the "best of 2012" by the nanotechweb news portal and has been featured on MIT's technology review and other technical media outlets. He is a distinguished lecturer of the IEEE Electron Device Society and an Editor for the IEEE Electron Device Letters.

Dr. Deji Akinwande received the PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 2009, where he conducted research on the synthesis, device physics, and circuit applications of carbon nanotubes and graphene. His Master’s research in Applied Physics at Case Western Reserve University pioneered the design and development of near-field microwave probe tips for nondestructive imaging and studies of materials.